Reiss, Anya

Anya Reiss is a British playwright and screenwriter who was born in London in 1991. She attended Francis Holland School, an independent school for girls in Sloane Square. Her debut play, Spur of the Moment (Royal Court Upstairs, 2010), was written at the age of 17. The play focuses on a 12-year-old girl whose parents fail to realise the budding relationship emerging with their lodger. It won the 2010 TMA Award for Best New Play, and Reiss was awarded with the Evening Standard and the Critics’ Circle Award for Most Promising Playwright. Her second play, The Acid Test, also opened at the Royal Court in 2011. Reiss’ 2014 adaptation of Chekhov’s Three Sisters was set among British diplomats and military in Yemen.


—. Spur of the Moment. London: Oberon Books, 2010.

—. The Acid Test. London: Oberon Books, 2011.

—. The Seagull. London: Oberon Books, 2013.

—. Spring Awakening. London: Oberon Books, 2014.

—. Three Sisters. London: Oberon Books, 2014.

—. Uncle Vanya. London: Oberon Books, 2014.

—. Oliver Twist. London: Oberon Books, 2017.